Sunday, December 6, 2009

NASCAR Toyota All-Star Showdown

NASCAR Toyota All-Star Showdown
January 29-30 - Toyota Speedway at Irwindale, California

Alex Kennedy, Moses Smith, Todd Souza
2009 Toyota Showdown

The seventh running of the NASCAR Toyota All-Star Showdown will bring together the top racers from across North America for the ”Daytona 500 of short-track racing.” It will be highlighted by the 225-lap Camping World Series All-Star race.

Each race winner during the 2009 Camping World Series East and Camping World Series West seasons is eligible for a protected starting spot, as are the 2009 champions from each of NASCAR’s six regional touring series and the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series national champion.

In addition to eligible 2009 race winners and series champions, the starting lineup will be determined through time trials, limited provisionals for Camping World Series regulars, and the last-chance "Open" race that provides drivers one final chance to make the grid.
Rain plagued the 2009, Showdown.

Last edition of the Toyota All-Star Showdown was plagued by rain which caused a shortage lack of practice. Joey Logano, the 2007 Camping World East Series champion, crossed the finish line first in the Camping World Series race, but he never got to victory to celebrate.

NASCAR penalized Logano immediately following the finish of the 250-lap event for rough riding Peyton Sellers in the final turn, giving the victory to Matt Kobyluck. Logano was credited with a 40th place finish.

Moses Smith, in the #16 Hasa Pool Products Toyota Camry, had worked himself into a top-ten finishing position. However, all did not go according to plan. During the final restart, with just seven laps to go, the right rear tire went flat.

“It was all I could do to keep the car on the track.” Moses chuckled. “I almost lost it twice in turn four. It was pretty wild.” With so few laps to go, the team elected to stay out, and try to finish on the lead lap. Moses managed to keep the #16 Hasa Pool Product car on the lead lap for a respectable twelfth place finish.

The 2010 NASCAR Toyota All-Star Showdown schedule also includes 100-lap Whelen All-American Series Super Late Model and 75-lap Late Model races. Both nights of racing will air live on SPEED.

2010 Confirmed Drivers:
Steve Park
Ryan Truex
Jason Bowles
Matt Kobyluck
Greg Pursley
Eddie MacDonald

No comments: