Saturday, April 23, 2022

An Earnhardt on Pole for #NASCAR Xfinity

An Earnhardt on Pole for #NASCAR Xfinity

Jeffrey Earnhardt Wins Pole For Ag-Pro 300 at Talladega

An Earnhardt on Pole for #NASCAR Xfinity


Jeffrey Earnhardt too full advantage of a career opportunity Friday when he captured the pole position for the Ag-Pro 300 (3 p.m. CDT on FOX, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) at Talladega Superspeedway – the first time he sat behind the wheel of the No. 3 Richard Childress Racing  Chevrolet



It was announced just last week that the grandson of 10-time Talladega winner Dale Earnhardt, Sr. would get a one-race deal with RCR (his first ever with the team), and it would be in a No. 3 – that his “grandpa” made famous.


“I tell ya this is unbelievable man,” said an emotional Earnhardt. “This is a dream of mine for years, to get to this opportunity and everything is falling into place. The good Lord is taking care of us. Everyone from ForeverLawn have supported me tremendously. All the guys at RCR, man, all I’ve got to do is hold a pretty wheel. They’ve proven time and time again they bring fast cars to the superspeedways. Not a bad starting spot. We’re going to try to keep ‘er there all race and hopefully put it in victory lane.”



For Childress, whose No. 3 that Earnhardt, Sr., collected nine of those triumphs, it was extra special. “To see that 3 car back on the track with an Earnhardt in it, it’s kind of touching to me anyway because I was always a big Earnhardt fan. And this is Earnhardt country…pretty amazing.”


Jeffrey’s best-career result in the NASCAR Xfinity Series came in 2019 when was third at Charlotte in a Joe Gibbs Racing machine. His best at ’Dega is a 12th (2015). Hoping for his first career triumph, he will have FOX analyst Larry McReynolds serving as his crew chief. McReynolds, before he started his stint with FOX in 2001, had 23 victories as a crew chief, including the 1998 DAYTONA 500 with Dale Sr. at the wheel.



RCR took three of the fop-four spots with Austin Hill second and Sheldon Creed fourth. Ty Gibbs was third and Daniel Hemric fifth.



source: Talladega Superspeedway

No comments: