Saturday, May 21, 2022

2022 NASCAR Open and NASCAR All-Star Race Formats

2022 NASCAR Open and NASCAR All-Star Race Formats

The NASCAR All-Star Race has become one of the sport’s most innovative exhibition events, where formats and technical elements can be tested on a grand scale and this weekend’s spectacular will be no different.



NASCAR and Texas Motor Speedway announced the format and eligibility for the NASCAR All-Star Race on Sunday, May 22 that features four stages and 125 laps of on-track competition for a $1 million payday, stage winner incentives, amplified roles for the pit crews, and a distinctive head-to-head elimination qualifying format.


The NASCAR All-Star Race returns to Texas Motor Speedway for the second consecutive season and this 38th edition brings some unique twists for the eligible Cup drivers pursuing the winner-take-all $1 million payday. The most prominent twist will come in the form of a four-round qualifying format with head-to-head elimination rounds and the pivotal role of the pit crews.


The NASCAR All-Star Qualifying format is as follows:

  • • Opening round is the traditional single-car, one-lap format in reverse order of the current 2022 owner points.
  • • Fastest eight qualifiers transfer to a three-round, head-to-head elimination bracket.
  • • Elimination bracket will feature two cars staged in adjacent pit stalls near the end of pit road.
  • • At the sound of an alert, each pit crew will perform a four-tire stop and, at the drop of the jack, drivers will exit their pit stalls (with no speed limit) onto the track.
  • • First car back to the start/finish line advances to the next round.
  • • Final pairing competes for the pole.


The NASCAR All-Star Race format is as follows:


The race will consist of four stages, with the first three 25 laps in length and the fourth and final being a 50-lap shootout for the $1 million prize. The new format has provided a major incentive to win any of the opening three stages or the pit stop competition during the break between Stages 2 and 3.


  • • Stage 1 (25 laps): Stage 1 winner will start on the pole in the final stage as long as he finishes 15th or better in Stages 2 and 3.
  • • Stage 2 (25 laps): Stage 2 winner starts second in final stage as long as he finishes 15th or better in Stage 3.
  • • Special Stage Break (Pit Stop Competition): Each team must pit and perform a four-tire stop. The team with the shortest time on pit road (pit in/pit out) wins the pit crew award and the driver will start fourth in the final stage as long as he finishes 15th or better in Stage 3.
  • • Stage 3 (25 laps): Stage 3 winner starts third in final stage.
  • • Stage 4 (50 laps): Stage 1 winner starts first, Stage 2 winner second, Stage 3 winner third and pit stop competition winner fourth. If a “natural” caution occurs between laps 15-25 of the final stage, standard race procedures will be in effect. If no “natural” caution occurs during that time, NASCAR will call an “All Star” competition caution.
  • • Winner of Stage 4 earns $1 million.


NASCAR All-Star Open format is as follows:

  • • The NASCAR All-Star Open will run immediately prior to the NASCAR All-Star Race and will include three stages (20 laps / 20 laps / 10 laps).
  • • The winner of each stage will earn a spot in the NASCAR All-Star Race.
  • • The winner of the Fan Vote will also earn a spot in the NASCAR All-Star Race. Fans may vote for their favorite driver by visiting


Who’s already locked into the Main Event – the 2022 NASCAR All-Stars Heading into this weekend at Texas Motor Speedway, 20 different drivers have earned their spot in the NASCAR All-Star Race on May 22 at 8 p.m. ET on FS1, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio.

Drivers eligible for the 2022 NASCAR All-Star Race consist of:

  • • Cup Series drivers who have earned a points-paying race victory in either 2021 or 2022.
  • • Previous NASCAR All-Star Race winners who are competing full-time this season.
  • • Previous NASCAR Cup Series champions who are competing full-time this season.


Entry Car Driver Organization
1 1 Ross Chastain TrackHouse Racing
2 2 Austin Cindric Team Penske
3 4 Kevin Harvick Stewart Haas Racing
4 5 Kyle Larson Hendrick Motorsports
5 6 Brad Keselowski RFK Racing
6 9 Chase Elliott Hendrick Motorsports
7 10 Aric Almirola Stewart Haas Racing
8 11 Denny Hamlin Joe Gibbs Racing
9 12 Ryan Blaney Team Penske
10 14 Chase Briscoe Stewart Haas Racing
11 16 Allmendinger  (i) Kaulig Racing
12 18 Kyle Busch Joe Gibbs Racing
13 19 Martin Truex Jr Joe Gibbs Racing
14 20 Christopher Bell Joe Gibbs Racing
15 22 Joey Logano Team Penske
16 23 Bubba Wallace 23XI Racing
17 24 William Byron Hendrick Motorsports
18 34 Michael McDowell Front Row Motorsports
19 45 Kurt Busch 23XI Racing
20 48 Alex Bowman Hendrick Motorsports


Of the 20 drivers already entered in the NASCAR All-Star race, seven have previously scored wins in the annual exhibition event, led by Kevin Harvick (2007, 2018) and Kyle Larson (2019, 2021) with two All-Star victories each. 2021 series champion, Kyle Larson is the most recent NASCAR All-Star race winner, bringing home the victory from Texas Motor Speedway last season.


In total, 24 drivers will make a start in this season’s NASCAR All-Star race and four additional positions will be added to the NASCAR All-Star Race field following the NASCAR All-Star Open – the NASCAR Open Stage 1 Winner, the NASCAR Open Stage 2 Winner, the NASCAR All-Star Open Winner, and the Fan Vote Winner.



source: NASCAR Media

No comments: