Sunday, May 16, 2021

The 'Drydene 400' at Dover Today

'The Drydene 400 at Dover Today'

Monster of a Good Time Ahead for the NASCAR Cup Series at Dover

  • Next Race Drydene 400
  • The Place Dover International Speedway
  • The Date Sunday, May 16
  • The Time 2 p.m. ET
  • TV FS1, 12:30 p.m. ET
  • Radio MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio
  • Distance 400 miles (400 laps)
    • Stage 1 (Ends on Lap 120)
    • Stage 2 (Ends on Lap 240)
    • Final Stage (Ends on Lap 400)



Next up on the 2021 NASCAR Cup Series schedule is Dover International Speedway and Sunday’s Drydene 400 (2 p.m. ET on FS1, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) the 13th race of the season.


Aptly named the Monster Mile, Dover International Speedway is a 1-mile concrete paved oval located in Dover Delaware. Dover International Speedway, originally known as Dover Downs International Speedway, has hosted 102 NASCAR Cup Series races dating back to the inaugural event on July 6, 1969. The first Dover race was won by NASCAR Hall of Famer Richard Petty driving a Petty Enterprises Ford (115.772 mph, 02:35:28). Petty actually won the first two Cup events at the track (1969, 1970).



In total, the 102 NASCAR Cup Series races at Dover have produced 42 different pole winners and 38 different race winners. NASCAR Hall of Famer David Pearson leads the series in poles at Dover with six (1969, 1973 sweep, 1974, 1975, 1981). Ryan Newman (2003, 2005, 2006, 2007) and Denny Hamlin (2012, 2013, 2015, 2019) lead all active series drivers in poles at Dover with four poles each. 


Recently retired driver, Jimmie Johnson holds the series record for the most wins at Dover with 11 victories (2002 sweep, 2005 Playoffs, 2009 sweep, 2010 Playoffs, Spring of 2012, 2013 Playoffs, Spring of 2014, Spring of 2015, and Spring of 2017).


Of the 38 different NASCAR Cup Series winners at Dover International Speedway, nine are active this weekend. Four drivers are tied for the most wins (each have three wins) among active drivers at Dover:

  • Kevin Harvick
  • Martin Truex Jr. 
  • Kyle Busch
  • Ryan Newman




source: NASCAR Media

No comments: