Saturday, June 12, 2021

Camping World Series SRX Debut

Camping World Series SRX Debut

To Benefit Plating Change Battling Food Insecurity

Superstar Racing Experience (SRX), officially known as the Camping World SRX Series, is an upcoming auto racing series founded by Tony Stewart, Ray Evernham, Sandy Montag and George Pyne. Superstar Racing Experience will take place on six consecutive Saturdays starting today (June 12) at Stafford Motor Speedway in Stafford Springs, CT.


Camping World Series SRX Debut - Drivers

The Race

Clouds of vaporized rubber at the starting line, flaming exhaust headers, and a roar like nothing you've ever heard before. Living legends, road warriors and fearless young guns all clashing in a packed-house showdown of high-octane power and fury. This is racing with all the guts of a 750 HP V 8 engine. This is racing the way it was meant to be. This is what fans want. No complex point systems. No prima donnas.


Tonight’s event is sold out. Luckily, in the United States, all SRX races will be televised on CBS. They will also stream on Paramount+, which you can watch through either Paramount or Amazon Prime.



The Drivers


Tony Stewart, also known as Smoke, is a professional stock car racing driver and current NASCAR team owner. He is a three-time NASCAR Cup Series champion as a driver, winning titles in 2002, 2005 and 2011. As a team owner, he has won NASCAR Cup titles in 2011 with himself and in 2014 with Kevin Harvick. Throughout his racing career, Stewart has won racing titles in Indy, midget, sprint and USAC Silver Crown cars. He is the only driver in history to win a championship in both IndyCar and NASCAR. In 2019, Stewart was inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame.



Tony Kanaan is a Brazilian IndyCar racer known fondly as “TK”. He’s a threat on the track, winning the 2004 IndyCar Series and more recently the 2013 Indy 500. In the 2004 season, Kanaan became the first IndyCar Series driver to complete every possibly lap in a season. He is also the only driver to lead the Indy 500 in each of his first seven starts, with a total of 17 career race wins and 15 pole-positions in the IndyCar series.



Willy T Ribbs is a trailblazer in auto racing - as the first African American man to have tested a Formula One car and to compete in the Indianapolis 500, Ribbs saw unprecedented success in the Trans-Am Series, winning 17 races total. Ribbs competed in many forms of auto racing, including the IndyCar, Champ Car, IMSA and the NASCAR Cup Series. Upon retiring, Ribbs became a sports shooter in the National Sporting Clays Association.



Paul Tracy is a Canadian-American auto racing driver, who most recently competed in the CART and IndyCar Series. He is known as “PT” and “the Thrill from West Hill” among the racing community. Tracy has served as a color commentator on NBC’s IndyCar coverage from 2014, but is most widely known for his dominance on the track, having won the 2003 CART Championship Series, in addition to sitting P2 in the 2002 Indy 500 and a collective 31 Wins and 74 Podiums in CART and IndyCar combined.



Hello Castroneves is a Brazilian IndyCar racer, scoring his first series victory at the 2000 Detroit Grand Prix. It was after this victory that Castroneves debuted his now-famous fence climb that he does to celebrate all of his wins. Castroneves competed in his first Indianapolis 500 in 2001 and wasted little time, picking up his first Indianapolis 500 Championship that same year. In 2002, Castroneves became the first driver to win the Indianapolis 500 in his first two starts - and the fifth driver to win consecutive Indianapolis 500s. In 2009, Helio took his third Indianapolis 500 crown to become just the ninth driver to accomplish that feat. In 2021, Helio won his fourth Indy 500 championship.



Bobby Labonte, is widely known for his dominance in he NASCAR Winston Cup Series of which he became the champion in 2000 and is now an analyst on NASCAR RaceDay for Fox Sports. Labonte, the 2001 IRoc Series Champion, was inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame just this year, and shares the sport with his older brother Terry and his nephew Justin.



Bill Elliott, affectionately known in the racing community as “Awesome Bill”, last competed part-time in the NASCAR Xfinity Series. Elliott won the 1988 Winston Cup Championship and garnered 44 wins in that series, including two Daytona 500 victories in the 1980’s. Elliott holds the record for fastest qualifying speed at Talladega and Daytona International Speedway, with of which were set in 1987. In 1985, Elliott made history by winning the first ever Winston Million, a million dollar bonus to any driver that could win three out of the four crown jewel races at NASCAR. Elliott won NASCARs Most Popular Driver Award a record 16 times, and was inducted into the 2015 NASCAR Hall of Fame in 2015.



Currently at 23 years old, Ernie Francis Jr. (EFJ) has already established several impressive milestones in the motorsports industry. He is currently the winningest all time driver in 55 years of TransAm racing. At age 16 he became the youngest TransAm champion in the series' history. He is the youngest professional driver to win 7 consecutive championships in TransAm (2017-2020 TA Class). EFJ also won the SCCA National Championship Runoffs (GT1 class) in 2019. One of EFJ’s most impressive races was at Indianapolis in 2018 for a TransAm race where he missed qualifying due to a prior NASCAR race commitment. As a result, he started in last place on race day and still managed to maneuver his way to the top and take 1st place!



Michael Waltrip is an American professional stock car racing driver, racing commentator, and published author. He is the younger brother of three-time NASCAR champion and racing commentator Darrell Waltrip. Waltrip is a two-time winner of the Daytona 500, having won the race in 2001 and 2003.



Marco Andretti is a third generation driver and is heading into his 16th season competing in the IndyCar series. He is a 2006 Indy 500 and NTT IndyCar Series Rookie of the Year.



Doug Coby is the six-time NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Champion. Coby was invited to the event to represent Stafford, and the region where he’s put together a successful resume of winning races and championships.



Greg Biffle started his NASCAR racing career back in 1995 and is the first among three drivers who have won championships in both the Craftsman Truck Series and Busch Series. He is also on record to be the sixth among twenty-six drivers to have won a race in every one of NASCAR’s national series. He was born and bred in Camas Washington and started his racing career in tracks located at the Pacific Northwest.


This is going to be awesome – NASCAR Race Mom can’t wait.




No comments: