Monday, August 23, 2010

Moses Smith Racing:
Formula Mazda-Indy Car Support Races

Race fans were treated to the Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear during the Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma at Infineon Raceway last weekend (August 21-22, 2010). This marked the first time the Formula Car Challenge Series was paired with the IZOD IndyCar Series in the Sonoma Valley.

The Formula Car Challenge presented by Goodyear is a multiple-region series with an annual national championship. The series features a multi-class format; Formula Mazda, Pro Formula Mazda, and the new FormulaSPEED2.0. All classes are powered by Mazda, and equipped with Goodyear Racing tires.

Twenty-three Standard Formula Mazda racers entered the double-header weekend. It made this one of the largest Formula Mazda races in North America this season.

On the Saturday, the first race in the standard Formula Mazda division, was won by Alan McCallum, of Houston, Texas. Alan found his way to victory lane lapping nearly a full second faster than his nearest competitor, Doug Peterson. Joe Colasacco rounded out the podium. Alan McCallum runs out of the Moses Smith Racing Shop. Unfortunately, Moses Smith, who is also the Formula Mazda class manufacturer, had to miss Alan’s historic win.

“What a great day. I had to leave the track to a ‘Support the Troops Benefit’ at a shooting range. Got to shoot a bunch of cool stuff. Mean while the MSR team was at Infineon racing...and subsequently winning the support race for Indy car! Life is good in the MSR camp!” Smith recounted.

Sunday proved to be a bit more challenging for the MSR Team. While Alan McCallum was able to place the MSR #19 on pole again, he was passed mid race. Lucas Barnett completed the pass halfway through the race and held on to the lead until turn 7 on the last lap.

McCallum barely held on as his FM got a little loose out of turn 11 headed for the checkered flag. He and Barnett crossed the finish line side by side, with Alan McCallum winning the race by a nose. Local veteran driver, Bill Weaver rounded out the podium.

McCallum is currently a student at Arizona State University, and races for Moses Smith Racing. "I came out here about a month ago and got acclimated with the track," McCallum said. "It's a relatively new car for me, but it was a lot of fun. Moses is a great guy, he helps me a lot. I learn a lot from him every day. (1)"

Formula Car Challenge – Formula Mazda
Infineon Raceway – Race 2
Sunday August 22, 2010

Complete Results:

1- Alan McCallum, 2-Lucas Barnett, 3-Bill Weaver,4-Matt Trudell,5-Stew Tabak,6-George Jackson,7-Cameron Parsons,8-Russell Hillenburg,9-Sam Lockwood,10-John Weed,11-Dale Swope,12-John Ertel,13-Bruce Carpenter,14-Derry O'Donovan,15-Tom Barnett,16-David Vanhooser,17-Darryl Wills,18-Ty Young,19-Perry Mele, 20-Joe Colasacco, 21-Steve Jenks, 22-Douglas Peterson, 23-Jamie Slone

Formula Car Challenge
Infineon Raceway – Race 1
Saturday August 22, 2010

Complete Results:

1-Alan McCallum, 2-Douglas Peterson, 3-Joe Colasacco, 4-Steve Jenks, 5-Lucas Barnett, 6-Bill Weaver, 7-Matthew Trudell, 8-Derry O’Donovan, 9-Stew Tabak, 10-Jamie Slone, 11-Perry Mele, 12-Russell Hillenburg, 13-Cameron Parsons, 14-Sam Lockwood, 15-Dale Swope, 16-John Weed, 17-George Jackson, 18-Tom Barnett, 19-John Ertel, 20-Bruce Carpenter, 21-Ty Young, 22-David Vanhooser, 23-Darryl Wills

(1) Quote borrowed from
Podium 2 photo by Jeannie Broussal
Podium 1 photo Pat Brandon
Starting Grid Photo by Ryan –
Video by Sloneracing

No comments: