Sunday, March 25, 2012

Sprint Fan Vote now open for 2012 race

After record-setting vote total in 2011, power back in fans' hands to finalize field

HUNTERSVILLE, N.C. -- As the date of the Sprint All-Star Race approaches, fans can once again help determine the starting lineup for what is one of the most highly anticipated events of the Sprint Cup Series season.

Through the annual Sprint Fan Vote, under way now, fans can cast ballots for their favorite eligible driver. The driver receiving the highest number of votes will earn a spot in the prestigious Sprint All-Star Race field and a shot at the $1 million payday when the event airs live on SPEED, Saturday, May 19, from Charlotte Motor Speedway. Last year, fans cast more than 2.4 million votes, a record number.

Fans can vote by using the Sprint Cup Mobile Android application on their Sprint phone, or by texting "VOTE" to 229466 on any wireless carrier (standard text messaging and data rates apply). Voting is also open at or by visiting the Sprint Experience, located in the midway at all Sprint Cup Series races. Voting will continue until 5 p.m. EDT on Saturday, May 19.

As an added customer benefit, votes submitted from a Sprint, Boost, Nextel or Virgin Mobile device count double toward an individual driver's total.

In 2008, Kasey Kahne became the first driver to win the Sprint All-Star Race after being voted into the event via the Sprint Fan Vote.

Other winners of the Sprint Fan Vote include: Ken Schrader (2004), Martin Truex Jr. (2005), Kyle Petty (2006), Kenny Wallace (2007), Joey Logano (2009), Carl Edwards (2010) and Dale Earnhardt Jr. (2011).

To be eligible for the Sprint Fan Vote, drivers must have finished in the top 55 of the final 2011 Sprint Cup Series driver point standings or attempted to qualify for the 2012 Daytona 500.

Any eligible Sprint Fan Vote candidate who wins a Sprint Cup Series race during the 2012 season will automatically gain entry into the Sprint All-Star Race. Subsequently, the driver's name will be removed from the Sprint Fan Vote ballot and their accumulated votes will be voided.

In addition to accumulating the most votes, a Sprint Fan Vote-eligible driver must also finish the Sprint Showdown qualifying race on the lead lap with a car in "raceable" condition (as determined by NASCAR Competition), to earn a spot in the prestigious all-star field.

Tickets for the Sprint All-Star Race are on sale now. Frontstretch tickets with the best views of pit road and the world's largest HD video board start at just $49. To purchase tickets, call 1-800-455-FANS (3267) or visit

Follow Miss Sprint Cup via Facebook and Twitter () throughout the voting window for the most up-to-date Sprint Fan Vote information. Fans are encouraged to use the hashtag #SprintFanVote when tweeting about the event.

By Sponsor Release

No comments: