Friday, July 25, 2014

#KNWEST Statistical Advance:
Colorado (#nascar)

Analyzing The Toyota/NAPA Auto Parts 150 At CNS

Greg Pursley has one victory and five top-five finishes in his five career
starts at Colorado National Speedway. (Getty Images for NASCAR)

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – The NASCAR K&N Pro Series West begins the second half of its season with a visit to Colorado National Speedway in Dacono, Colo., on Saturday, July 26. Below is a statistical look at the recent performance of the series and selected drivers at Colorado, as well as some other statistical trends:

Colorado Race Setup

  • Four series races took place at Colorado National Speedway between 1995 and 2004, but has visited the track every year since 2007. This will be the 11th series event at Colorado National Speedway.
  • Through the series’ first seven events, there have been seven different pole winners. Four drivers have won races from the pole and excluding the combination event with the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East at Iowa Speedway, the worst starting position for a race winner has been sixth.
  • Points leader Greg Pursley will be making his sixth career start at Colorado National Speedway. Through his first five starts at the track, he has one win, five top fives and five top 10s.

At Colorado National Speedway:


  • This race will be the 12th series visit to Colorado National Speedway.
  • The 11 series races at CNS produced nine different winners. With two victories each, Eric Holmes and Mike Duncan are the only drivers with multiple wins.
  • There have been nine different pole winners. Holmes and Dylan Kwasniewski, with two poles each, are the only drivers with more than one pole award.
  • Greg Pursley has the most top-five finishes, with five.
  • Eric Holmes has the most top-10s, with six.
  • Jack Sellers has the most series starts at Colorado, with 10.
  • The race distance for a series event at CNS has been extended on three occasions for a green-white-checkered finish.
  • Chevrolet and Ford have been been in Victory Lane in series action at CNS four times each. Toyota has three wins at CNS.
  • The races in 2008, 2011 and 2013 were both won from the pole. Steve Portenga came from deepest in the field to win, charging from 14th to take the victory in 2001.
  • CNS has featured 126 different drivers in series competition in the 11 races.


• Mike Chase won the inaugural K&N Pro Series West race at Colorado on May 20, 1995.

• Among active series competitors, only Greg Pursley has a win at this track, earned in 2011.

• Dylan Kwasniewski was the youngest Colorado race winner at 16 years, two months, seven days, set in 2011.

• In 2007, Christopher became the oldest Colorado winner at 45 years, four months, 12 days.

• Colorado has been won from the pole position three times, most recently by Derek Thorn last year.

Colorado National Speedway Data

Race: #8 of 14 (7/26/14)

Track Layout: .375-mile paved oval

Race Length: 150 laps (56.25 miles)

Qualifying/Race Records

2013 Pole Winner: Derek Thorn

2013 Winner: Derek Thorn

1-lap Qualifying: Brian Ickler, 16.452 seconds, 82.057 mph, June 2, 2007

150-lap Race: Derek Thorn, 50 minutes 32 seconds, 66.788 mph, July 27, 2013

No comments: