Tuesday, November 29, 2016

Short Track Champions and Winners Make Up Deep Snowball Field

Short Track Champions and Winners Make Up Deep Snowball Field
#SnowballDerby The cast of drivers for the 49th Annual Snowball Derby at Five Flags Speedway in Pensacola, Florida is as deep as ever. It’s full of youth and experience as nearly 70 drivers chase the Tom Dawson Trophy. Looking over each drivers resume we find winners, champions and short track heroes from all stretches of North America. Here is a look at the best of the best from this year.

Short Track Champions and Winners Make Up Deep Snowball Field

Series champions from all regions are well represented. From the SPEARS SRL Southwest Tour Series, champion Derek Thorn is making a return to the Snowball Derby. Northwest Super Late Model Series Champion Garrett Evans also filed an entry, but will be unable to make the trip.

Also from the west, NASCAR K&N Pro Series West title holder Todd Gilliland will be on hand. Canadian driver Raphael Lessard who won the CARS Super Late Model title will visit Pensacola. Donnie Wilson who captured the Southern Super Series crown will again be at Five Flags looking to better his runner-up finish from 2010. 

One of the hottest drivers in recent memory, Ty Majeski comes to town looking to complete his Snowball Derby magic that left him third a year go. Majeski won the New Smyrna World Series Super Late Model title at Speedweeks, the ARCA Midwest Tour title for the third year in a row and the Florida Governor’s Cup 200.

Big race winners will also flock to the Snowball Derby as well as Dick Trickle 99 winner Dan Fredrickson will return to the Derby. Red-Eye 100 winner Cole Anderson will look to bookend the season with a win after winning the season’s first race. Christian Eckes won last weeks Myrtle Beach 400 in a Late Model Stock Car and will head to Pensacola as well. All American 400 winner Bubba Pollard will look to grab his second major of the season at the Snowball Derby.

Track champions are well represented from the Five Flags season. Two-time and defending Blizzard Series champion Casey Roderick is in the field looking for his first Snowball Derby win. Also this year’s track Pro Late Model champion Bret Holmes will mix it up in the Super Late Model ranks.

Also in the field are former winners John Hunter Nemechek, Clay Rogers and two-time winner Augie Grill. All three will be in contention for another victory.

There are several other champions from other years in the mix, but all these honors just proves this is the deepest Super Late Model field out there.

The 49th Annual Snowball Derby weekend kicks off on Wednesday, November 30 with the Cat Country/WEAR TV3 Green Flag Pit Party and Qualifying Order Draw Down.

Thursday, December 1 will see the Super Late Models take to the track for the first official Snowball Derby practice. The night will be highlighted by a 30-lap race for the Butler U-Pull-It Bombers and a 50-lap event for the Dock on the Beach Sportsmen division.

The top Snowball Derby starting spots will be set on Friday, December 2 during NASH FM 102.7 Pole Night. The Faith Chapel Super Stocks and the Modifieds will each run 50-lap features.

The Pro Late Models take center stage on Saturday, December 3 for the Allen Turner Hyundai Snowflake 100. The 50-lap Last Chance Qualifier for the Snowball Derby and a 50-lap feature for the Beef O’Brady’s Pro Truck division will also run on Saturday night.

Then on Sunday, December 4 the green flag will fly over the 49th Annual Snowball Derby. The 300-lap race will begin at 2 p.m. CT.

For more information on the 49th Annual Snowball Derby weekend at Five Flags Speedway, visit www.snowballderby.com. All media credential requests and inquiries for the Snowball Derby can be sent to Pat Bryant at Pat@SnowballDerby.com.

Race fans unable to make their way to Pensacola, Florida during Snowball Derby week will be able to watch all of the racing action live on Speed51.com. Four-day video tickets are now available at a savings of $20. Visit Speed51.com today for more information.

-By Elgin Traylor, Speed51.com Contributor
-Photo Credit: Speed51.com

No comments: