Sunday, April 3, 2022

NASCAR Cup - First-time Winners Aplenty

NASCAR Cup - First-time Winners Aplenty

Will Richmond Raceway See Another First-Time Winner


  • Next Race: Toyota Owners 400  
  • The Place: Richmond Raceway  
  • The Date: Sunday, April 3  
  • The Time: 3:30 p.m. ET  
  • The Purse: $7,110,735  
  • TV: FOX, 3 p.m. ET  
  • Radio: MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio  
  • Distance: 300 miles (400 laps) 
    • Stage 1 (Ends on Lap 70) 
    • Stage 2 (Ends on Lap 230) 
    • Final Stage (Ends on Lap 400)


Trackhouse Racing’s Ross Chastain became the third first-time NASCAR Cup Series winner of the 2022 season (Austin Cindric, Daytona; Chase Briscoe, Phoenix) last weekend with his big victory at the Circuit of The Americas. The win makes 2022 the first time since 2001 the series has seen three first-time winners in the first six races of a season.


Now with the series heading to Richmond Raceway this weekend for the Toyota Owners 400, what are the chances a fourth new winner is sitting in Victory Lane on Sunday? If a first-time winner takes the checkered flag this weekend at Richmond, the 2022 NASCAR Cup Series season would become the first season in the Modern Era (1972-Present) with four or more first time winners in the first seven races of a season and just the third all-time; behind the series inaugural season in 1949 (six first-time winners) and its sophomore season in 1950 (five first-time winners).


The 1950 season holds the NASCAR Cup Series record for the most first-time winners in a single season with 12 different drivers getting their first win that year. The 2001, 2002 and 2011 seasons are tied for the series-most first-time winners in a single season in the Modern Era with five first-time winners each.


First-Time Cup Winners at Richmond Raceway

First-Time Cup Winners


Kasey Kahne

Sat., 05/14/2005

Tony Stewart

Sat., 09/11/1999

Kyle Petty

Sun., 02/23/1986

Neil Bonnett

Sun., 09/11/1977

James Hylton

Sun., 03/01/1970


Richmond Raceway has been the home to five first-time winners in the NASCAR Cup Series with Kasey Kahne being the most recent to accomplish the feat in 2005.


Looking at the field entered this weekend, there are 11 drivers looking for their first career Cup Series win – (alphabetical order by last name)


  1. Harrison Burton
  2. Landon Cassill
  3. Ty Dillon
  4. Todd Gilliland
  5. Corey Lajoie
  6. Andy Lally
  7. BJ McLeod
  8. Tyler Reddick
  9. Garrett Smithley
  10. Daniel Suárez
  11. Cody Ware





source: NASCAR Media

No comments: