Saturday, April 16, 2022

Setting the field and race format for the Camping World Trucks at Bristol

Setting the field and race format for the Camping World Trucks at Bristol

Qualifying Races Start at 4:30 p.m. ET

A total of 38 trucks are currently entered for Saturday night’s Pinty’s Truck Race on Dirt (8 p.m. ET on FS1, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio) to vie for a spot in the field for the 150-lap feature race.


Setting the field and race format for the Camping World Trucks at Bristol



To set the field, Saturday afternoon will feature four qualifying races, starting at 4:30 p.m. ET. A random draw determines a driver’s qualifying race designation and starting position for the qualifying races, and the draw will be done in the order of current owner points. Qualifying random draw was done on Friday, April 15.


Qualifying Race 1

  1. Austin Dillon
  2. Tanner Gray
  3. Andrew Gordon
  4. Colby Howard
  5. Parker Kligerman 
  6. Blaine Perkins
  7. Timmy Hill
  8. Austin Wayne Self
  9. Buddy Kofoid
  10. Jack Wood


Qualifying Race 2

  1. Ty Majeski
  2. Tyler Ankrum
  3. Matt Crafton
  4. Carson Hocevar
  5. Tate Fogleman
  6. Lawless Alan
  7. Keith McGee
  8. Zane Smith
  9. Chase Purdy
  10. Mike Marlar


Qualifying Race 3

  1. Kaz Grala
  2. Grant Enfinger
  3. Christian Eckes
  4. Hailie Deegan
  5. Kris Wright
  6. Joey Logano
  7. Ben Rhodes
  8. Norm Benning
  9. Matt DiBenedetto


Qualifying Race 4

  1. Dean Thompson
  2. Chandler Smith
  3. Derek Kraus
  4. Chase Elliott
  5. Spencer Boyd
  6. John Hunter Nemechek
  7. Harrison Burton
  8. Jessica Friesen
  9. Stewart Friesen


Each qualifying race will be 15 laps, with only green flag laps counting and the overtime rule will not be in effect. Free pass and wave around procedures will be in use. For positions 32nd – 36th provisionals will be applied.


Drivers will accumulate points in the qualifying races based on finishing position and passing points. Then, the lineup for the feature race will be based on combined points of qualifying race finishing position points and passing points.


Passing points are defined as the difference between the assigned starting position and the finishing position of the trucks. There will only be positive passing points awarded for moving forward – if a driver finishes in the same or a lower position, they will receive zero points.


Finishing points are awarded as such:

   Finish       Point

  1.        10
  2.          9
  3.          8
  4.          7
  5.          6
  6.          5
  7.          4
  8.          3
  9.          2
  10.          1



The feature race will be 150 laps divided into three stages (40/90/150). The running order will be frozen at the conclusion of each stage. During the stage breaks, teams can change tires, add fuel and make adjustments to their trucks. Trucks cannot add fuel or change tires except at stage breaks.



source: NASCAR Media

No comments: