Saturday, August 17, 2013

K&N West Statistical Advance: Monroe

Analyzing The NAPA Auto Parts 150 At Evergreen Speedway

Second-generation driver Daryl Harr has seven series starts
at Evergreen Speedway in Monroe, Wash. (Getty Images for NASCAR)

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – The NASCAR K&N Pro Series West visits Evergreen Speedway in Monroe, Wash., on Saturday, Aug. 17. Below is a statistical look at the recent performance of the series and selected drivers at Monroe, as well as some other statistical trends:

Monroe Race Setup

  • As the series heads into the second half of the season, the points remain close for drivers throughout the top 10 of the championship standings. The battle to make the top 10 is tight, as well – with 15-year-old series rookie Giles Thornton in 10th holding a one-point edge over John Wood.
  • Two previous winners at Monroe are entered in this year’s event – Greg Pursley, who won in 2011, and Eric Holmes, who won last year.

NASCAR K&N Pro Series West At Monroe

  • Evergreen Speedway has hosted 52 NASCAR K&N Pro Series races, dating back to 1964.
  •  Evergreen Speedway is located on the fairgrounds facility in Monroe, Wash. The track features a .646-mile oval, a .375-mile oval and a 1/5-mile oval.
  • Jack McCoy and Ray Elder have the most wins at Evergreen Speedway, with five each. McCoy won three consecutive races – one in 1967 and two in 1968 – and again in 1969 and 1973. Elder won in 1971, twice in 1972 and twice in 1975. Other multiple winners include Ron Eaton (1979, 1980 and 1982), Chad Little (1986, 1988 and 1989), Bill Amick (1964 and 1965), Dick Bown (1964 and 1970), Brendan Gaughan (2000 and 2001), Butch Gilliland (1996 and 1998), Harry Jefferson (1974 and 1977), Neil Newberry (1976 and 1979), Jim Robinson (1983 and 1984) and Bill Sedgwick (1990 and 1992).
  • Ron Eaton and Bill Elliott have the most poles at Monroe, with four each. Eaton won his in 1977, 1980, 1982 and 1985; Elliott won his in 1986, 1987, 1989 and 1990.
  • The late Roy Smith leads the lists for most top-five finishes (nine) and top-10 finishes (14) in competition at the track since 1971.
  • Chad Little has led the most laps around the Monroe track since 1971, staying out front for 1,183 circuits.
  • Among active drivers, Jack Sellers has the most starts at Monroe, taking the green flag there 20 times.
  • Ten of the 43 races in the modern era of the series at Evergreen Speedway were won from the pole position. Geoff Bodine came from deepest in the field to win, starting 21st in 1991.
  • None of the series races at Evergreen Speedway have ended in a green-white-checkered finish.
  • Ford has been in Victory Lane 13 times since 1971 at Monroe, followed closely by Dodge with 12 wins.
  • At Monroe, 341 different drivers have raced in series competition since 1971.

No comments: