Tuesday, July 7, 2009

Moses Smith - Most Popular Driver of the Year Award

Fans can once again cast their votes for the Most Popular Driver of the Year Award for the NASCAR Camping World Series West. Last year was the first season NASCAR fans were given the opportunity to vote for the most popular driver in this series.

Over 7500 people took advantage of the opportunity and voted via the NASCAR.com website. The 2008 recipient of the special award was Bill McAnally Racing's Moses Smith, driver of the #16 Hasa Pool Products/White Flyer Toyota Camry.

"I was absolutely surprised when NASCAR announced that I was voted as the Most Popular Driver," said Smith. "I was excited that I could deliver what the fans want. For me, racing has always been about friends, family, and fans. I would really love to win this special award two years in a row!"

Smith has been a NASCAR fan favorite since he made the switch from driving open-wheeled cars in 2007. Whatever tracks the series visited, hundreds of Moses Smith fans could be seen and heard in the grandstands cheering for the Hasa Toyota team. Moses would like to thank the thousands of Hasa customers who have continued to support him throughout the season.

Fans may vote once per day at (click here to vote) and are encouraged to vote throughout the season. Balloting for the Camping World Series West ends on September 26, 2009. The results of the voting will once again be announced season-end banquet.

Last year, every fan vote was crucial. The closest battle was in the NASCAR Camping World Series West where Moses Smith won the award by percentage points over teammate Austin Cameron. Of the 7,612 votes tallied, Smith earned 15.409% while Cameron totaled 15.151%.

If you would like a daily reminder to vote, please send your email address to vote@mosessmith.com.

No comments: