Tuesday, September 24, 2013

NASCAR K&N Pro Series West: Albuquerque

Momentum has shifted back and forth this year among three of the top four drivers in the championship standings for the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West.

With three wins each – Derek Thorn, Greg Pursley and Michael Self account for nine victories in 11 races so far. Each has appeared to have been the one to beat at various times this season.

Cameron Hayley - #24 K&N Pro Series West
17-year-old Canadian - Cameron Hayley - #24 K&N Pro Series West

Not to be overlooked, however, is Cameron Hayley. While still looking for his first victory in NASCAR K&N Pro Series West competition, the 17-year-old Canadian from Calgary, Alberta has turned in a solid performance this season. He has top 10 finishes in every race and is second in the standings.

All four drivers hope to get an edge in the championship battle this week when the series visits NAPA Speedway near Albuquerque, N.M., for the NAPA Auto Parts 150 presented by NAPA AutoCare Centers on Saturday, Sept. 28. It is the 12th event on a 15-race schedule.

Thorn leads the standings, with a 19-point advantage over Hayley. Pursley has moved to third, 24 points out of first, while Self is 25 points out of the lead in fourth.

Hayley, a member of the prestigious NASCAR Next program, captured the spotlight at the beginning of this year – by winning the inaugural UNOH Battle at the Beach non-points event at Daytona International Speedway.

Although he has yet to get to Victory Lane in a series points event, the young second-year driver leads the series in a couple of categories. Wheeling the No. 24 Cabinets by Hayley/GPM Ford for championship car owner Gene Price, Hayley has won the 21 Means 21 Pole Award by Coors Brewing Co., six times – four more poles than any other driver. He has an average finish of 5.0, which also leads the series. He has eight top fives and 11 top 10s, including three second-place finishes, and has led 206 laps of competition.

In addition, Hayley and Pursley – teammates at Gene Price Motorsports – have qualified the two GPM cars side-by-side on the front row in five events this year.

RACE: NAPA Auto Parts 150 presented by NAPA AutoCare Centers
PLACE: NAPA Speedway, Albuquerque, N.M.
DATE: Saturday, Sept. 28
TIME: 8 p.m. MT
TRACK LAYOUT: .5-mile paved oval
2012 WINNER: Derek Thorn
2012 POLESITTER: Dylan Kwasniewski
EVENT SCHEDULE: Saturday: Practice 1-1:45 p.m., 2:15–3 p.m., Qualifying 6 p.m.
TRACK CONTACT: Charlie Fegan, 505-400-0611

No comments: