Sunday, July 18, 2021

The Magic Mile to Host 50th Running of NASCAR Cup Series Race

The Magic Mile to Host 50th Running of NASCAR Cup Series Race

Joe Gibbs Racing Front Row - Kyle Busch on Pole Joined by Teammate Martin Truex Jr

Wet weather is currently not cooperating with #NASCAR


  • Next Race: Foxwoods Resort Casino 301  
  • The Place: New Hampshire Motor Speedway  
  • The Date: Sunday, July 18  
  • The Time: 3 p.m. ET TV: NBCSN, 2:30 p.m. ET  
  • Radio: PRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio  
  • Distance: 318.46 miles (301 Laps)
  • Stage 1 (Ends on Lap 75)
  • Stage 2 (Ends on Lap 185)
  • Final Stage (Ends on Lap 301)


#BuschLightApple Contest

Do you want to help design a sweet paint scheme for Kevin Harvick? Whenever the #4 car is in the last 3 laps of a stage, tweet #BuschLightApple #Sweepstakes


Every new stage is a chance to enter! #Foxwoods301



Weather Update

The wet weather is currently not cooperating with NASCAR’s  plans. You can stay up-to-date regarding track conditions by following Brian Neudorff on twitter. Brian is unofficial NASCAR Meteorologist, providing accurate forecasts for Cup/ Xfinity/ Trucks each week via Social Media


Five Races To Go

With just five races remaining in the regular season in the NASCAR Cup Series time is running thin for drivers to ensure their spot in the Playoffs. Gazing ahead to New Hampshire Motor Speedway, five drivers have already clinched their spots on wins and points with several others having the opportunity to do the same this weekend.


The following five drivers have clinched a spot in the Sixteen (16)-driver postseason field: 

  1. Kyle Larson 
  2. Kyle Busch 
  3. Chase Elliott 
  4. Martin Truex Jr.
  5. Alex Bowman


Track History

The NASCAR Cup Series 2021 regular season schedule is winding down with just five races to go and this weekend the best side-by-side racing in sports heads to New Hampshire Motor Speedway for the 50th running of the Foxwoods Resort Casino 301 on July 18 at 3 p.m. ET on NBCSN, PRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio (Channel 90).


Groundbreaking for New Hampshire International Speedway, as New Hampshire Motor Speedway was originally named, was August 13, 1989. The 1.058-mile paved oval is located on approximately 1,200 acres; the multi-use complex is the largest sports facility in New England. Speedway Motorsports, Inc. agreed to purchase New Hampshire International Speedway from Bob and Gary Bahre on January 11, 2008, and then renamed the track New Hampshire Motor Speedway.


The first NASCAR Cup Series race at New Hampshire Motor Speedway was on July 11, 1993 and won by NASCAR Hall of Famer Rusty Wallace driving a Team Penske Pontiac (105.947 mph, 02:59:45).


There have been forty-nine (49) NASCAR Cup Series races held at New Hampshire Motor Speedway; one per year from 1993 through 1996 and two per year from 1997-2017. In 2018, the track reverted back to just one event per season. The forty-nine (49) NASCAR Cup Series races at New Hampshire have produced twenty-two (22) different pole winners and (twenty-four) 24 different race winners.


Roush Fenway Racing’s Ryan Newman leads the series in poles at New Hampshire Motor Speedway with seven (2002, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2011 sweep, 2013). This weekend’s starting lineups were determined by Metric Qualifying and as a result Joe Gibbs Racing’s Kyle Busch will start on the pole. Busch will be joined by JGR teammate Martin Truex Jr. on the front row.



NBC Sports TV Analyst and former driver Jeff Burton (1997, 1998, 1999, 2000) and Stewart-Haas Racing’s Kevin Harvick (2006, 2016, 2018, 2019) lead the NASCAR Cup Series in wins at New Hampshire Motor Speedway with four victories each. Team Penske’s Brad Keselowski is the most recent Cup winner at New Hampshire taking home the trophy last season after putting on a dominant performance of leading 184 of the scheduled 301 laps.




source: NASCAR Media

No comments: