Monday, June 15, 2009

Infineon - News & Notes

The race … The Bennett Lane Winery 200 presented by Supercuts is the seventh race on the NASCAR Camping World Series West schedule in 2009. It is the first of three road-course events this season.

The procedure … The starting field is 40 cars, including provisionals. The first 36 cars will qualify through NASCAR road-racing style qualifying. The remaining four spots will be awarded through the provisional process. The race will be 64 laps (127.36 miles).

The track … Infineon Raceway is a winding 10-turn, 1.99-mile road course, with varying elevation. The NASCAR Camping World Series West has visited 28 times, since 1969. In addition to the track hosting 19 stand-alone events, drivers and teams competed in nine companion events with the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series between 1989 and 1997.

The records … Qualifying: David Gilliland, June 23, 2007, 91.979 mph, 77.887 seconds; Race: Brian Vickers, June 24, 2006, 67.595 mph, 1 hour 53 minutes 3 seconds.

Big field at Infineon … Another large turnout of cars is expected at Infineon Raceway. Last year’s event attracted a record starting field of 41 cars.

Entries of note … The entry list includes series graduate and current NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver David Gilliland (No. 45 Dreyer’s Ice Cream/Speed Wong Racing Toyota); NASCAR Sprint Cup Series rookie Joey Logano (No. 11 Home Depot Toyota); veteran road-racer Boris Said (No. 57 DenBeste Motorsports Ford); the legendary Hershel McGriff (No. 04 Park Corporation Chevrolet) and Porsche factory driver Patrick Long (No. 9 AASCO Motorsports Ford), a two-time winner in the 24 Hours of LeMans.

Behr Paint on No. 88 entry … The No. 88 Chevrolet of Jamie Dick will have a new look at Somona, as Behr Paint comes on board as his sponsor.

Honor for McAnally … Car owner Bill McAnally, who also serves as the promoter for several series events, is to receive a special honor from the Motorsports Press Association prior to the race on Saturday. The MSPA will present him with the Gordon Martin Award in recognition of his contribution to the sport of auto racing.

Front runners at Infineon … Three drivers – Hershel McGriff (1983, 1985, 1987), Jim Insolo (1978, 1979, 1980) and Bill Schmitt (1981, 1988, 1989) – lead series competition at Infineon, with three wins each. Schmitt also leads in terms of top-five finishes, with eight, and top-10 finishes, with nine. McGriff led the most laps, meanwhile, running out front for 142 laps. Butch Gilliland scored two victories on the legendary road course (1996 and 1997).

Also in Victory Lane … Other drivers to win a race at Infineon include Jack McCoy (1969), Ray Elder (1969), Jim Bown (1984), Jim Robinson (1986), Roy Smith (1982), Doug George (1995), Kevin Harvick (1998), Brian Vickers (2006), David Gilliland (2007) and last year’s winner, Jason Bowles (No. 6 Sunrise Ford Ford).

Pole winners … While Hershel McGriff leads with three poles at Infineon Raceway, Jim Bown, Butch Gilliland, Roy Smith and Tim Williamson each had won two poles there.

Series experience at Infineon … Jack Sellers (No. 15 Aramark Chevrolet) has the most series experience at Infineon of any active driver. He competed in 10 stand-alone series events, finishing as high as 11th in 1989, and six combination events, finishing 40th on two occasions.

Moses Smith 2008 Infineon Moses Smith 2008 RaceMoses qualified for the 2008 race in seventh place. An electrical failure plagued the team and Moses finished in twenty-eight in the field of forty-one.

No comments: