Thursday, May 19, 2011

Statistical Advance: Pork 'Be Inspired' 175

Analyzing NASCAR K&N Pro Series East-West combination race
By Kevin W. Green, NASCAR

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – The NASCAR K&N Pro Series East and NASCAR K&N Pro Series West travel to Iowa Speedway for their annual East-West combination race on Saturday, May 21.

Iowa Speedway Data
Race: #4 (5/21/11)
Track Layout: .875-mile, paved oval
Race Length: 175 laps (153.125 miles)

Overall Records
1-lap Qualifying: Kyle Busch, 23.250 seconds, 135.484 mph, May 17, 2009
175-lap Race: To be established at this distance

Overall Race Winners at Iowa
Kyle Busch, 1
Max Gresham, 1
Brian Ickler, 1
Joey Logano, 1

Overall Pole Winners at Iowa
Kyle Busch, 1
Austin Dillon, 1
Kevin Harvick, 1
David Mayhew, 1


  • This will be the fifth edition of the East-West combination race at Iowa Speedway. In addition, the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West visited the .875-mile track in Newton, Iowa for a stand-alone series race in 2009.

  • Iowa Speedway, located about 30 miles east of Des Moines, is owned and operated by U.S. Motorsport Corporation. It was designed by former NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion Rusty Wallace. The track opened in September of 2006.

  • The four East-West Combination events have resulted in four different winners – Joey Logano (2007), Brian Ickler (2008), Kyle Busch (2009) and Max Gresham (2010).

  • The four events have also produced four different Coors Light Pole winners – Kevin Harvick (2007), Austin Dillon (2008), Busch (2009) and David Mayhew (2010).

  • Busch was the only driver to win the E-W race at Iowa from the pole. Ickler started the furthest back and won, coming from seventh on the grid.

  • Only four drivers had multiple top-five finishes in the E-W action at Iowa. Ickler, Mayhew, Jeffrey Earnhardt and Jesus Hernandez each registered two top fives.

  • Hernandez has the most top 10 finishes in the combination races, finishing in the top 10 in all three E-W events he started.

  • With an average finish of 5.33, Hernandez also leads that category.

  • Busch has led the most laps of competition in E-W action at Iowa. He was out front for 168 laps in his dominating win in 2009.

  • Only five drivers competed in all four E-W combination races at Iowa – Mayhew, Daryl Harr, Eric Holmes, Matt Kobyluck and Brett Thompson.

  • Last year’s event was the only East-West combination race at Iowa to be extended by a late-race caution for a green-white-checkered finish.

  • Chevrolet went to Victory Lane in the first two E-W events, while the two most recent wins went to Toyota.

  • 104 different drivers have competed in the four E-W combination events at Iowa.

No comments: