Sunday, August 28, 2016

#NASCAR Race Weekend of First-Time Winners

#NASCAR Race Weekend of First Time Winners

Moffitt and McDowell on Saturday; Kyle Larson on Sunday
First Time In #NASCAR History

#NASCAR Race Weekend of First Time Winners
Kyle Larson notched his first Sprint Cup win, in his 99th start.
(Photo: Robert Laberge, Getty Images)
What a great finish to a NASCAR Weekend of First-Time Winners. After both he and Chase Elliott  spun their tires on a late race re-start, Kyle Larson took the lead with just nine laps remaining at Michigan International Speedway. He never looked back.

After his thrilling win, Larson completed his burnout celebration with his trade mark, steering wheel off and in his hands. The win propels the young driver into the NASCAR Sprint Cup Chase. However, do not feel too bad for Chase Elliott. It appears, that he will also make the chase on points.

“This one is for the Clauson family. We really miss him . . . . We parked it in Victory Lane for him.” an emotional Kyle Larson expressed.

The win at Michigan was the latest in a long line of ‘firsts’ accomplished by Larson in his young career. Among the highlights:
  • - In 2014, Larson became the first NASCAR D4D and NASCAR Next product to win a NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Coors Light Pole (Pocono Raceway), as well as the first to win the Sunoco Rookie of the Year.
  • - In 2013, he became the first NASCAR D4D graduate to win the Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award in the NASCAR XFINITY Series.
  • - Larson previously became the first NASCAR D4D competitor to win a NASCAR Touring Series championship. Driving for Rev Racing, Larson won the 2012 NASCAR K&N Pro Series East title and the Sunoco Rookie of the Year.

Chase Elliott Quote

"I just made another mistake  . . . . I had two opportunities to stay out front . . . I need to do a better job at these re-starts. Elliott reported"


Saturday’s Winners

Brett Moffitt, who had never led a lap in Truck Series competition won the Saturday race at Michigan International Speedway.

First-time Xfinity Winner, Michael McDowell cherished his Road America win on Saturday.

No comments: